First Presbyterian Church of Evanston is part of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A) and we follow the Presbyterian form of government, which includes governance by elected and ordained elders.

Deacons, Trustees and Elders

Ruling elders are chosen by the congregation. The body of elders elected to govern a particular congregation is called a session. Together with pastors, known as teaching elders, they exercise leadership, government, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a particular church as well as the church at large.

Elders are elected by the congregation and in one sense are representatives of the other members of the congregation. On the other hand, their primary charge is to seek the will of Christ and to be led by the Scriptures as they govern. Presbyterian elders are both elected and ordained. Through ordination they are officially set apart for service. They retain their ordination beyond their term in office.

The session is the smallest, most local governing body. The other governing bodies are presbyteries, which are composed of multiple churches (ours is the Presbytery of Chicago); synods, which are composed of several presbyteries; and the General Assembly, which represents the entire denomination. Ruling and teaching elders from particular churches are elected to serve as commissioners to higher governing councils.

In addition to elders, there is a second ordained office in the church, the role of deacons. Deacon ministry focuses on connectional and compassionate service in the church and is not focused on the governance issues of the church. Like elders, deacons retain their ordination beyond their term in office.

Most U.S. churches form non-profit corporations to manage their reporting, financial and property transactions and determine who should be officers of the church corporation. Our church has chosen to elect members with three year terms to be a Board of Trustees to manage corporate actions and stewardship of our financial resources and buildings. These are not ordained offices.

Here is the link to the 2017 Annual Report presented at the Annual Congregational Meeting.

Here is the link to the Final Audit Report 2016 for web.

To view the past several Session Meeting Notes, click here.

Ruling Elders 2018

Laurie Kaeser,
Clerk of Session
Daniel Allen
Sonia Bodi
Karen Bregman
Dwayne Dobschuetz
Katie Duke
Marilyn Haase
Susan Hood
Laura Jones
LeRoy Klemt
Matt McLeod
Hugh Parry
Ricki Rosengren
Daniel Shiau
Barbara Smith
Marge Stromberg
Go Suigura
May Tchao
Sharyn Wilson Woods

Teaching Elders/Ordained Pastors

Rev. Dr. Raymond Hylton, Senior Pastor,  Moderator of Session
Rev. Henry Coates, Associate Pastor


Robert Seal,
Gayle Anderson
Mosilda Asanji
Tony Bandawe
Richard Bell
Bev Bolsen
Cynthia Bridges
Al Covert
Meghan Dietrich
Dennis Fledderjohann
Liz Fledderjohann
Peg Forbes
Lorna Gayle
Carole Hariff
Linda Hoff Irvin
Stephanie Homan
Michael Hornsby
Michelle Hornsby
Ray Hylton, Jr.
David Jones
Allen Kakooza
Kim Langlois
Julie Lewis
Sally Lynch
Marcia Neuhart
Lynn Ostick
John Powell, Jr.
Susan Powell
Jane Pranga
Peggie Robinson
Joe Rodrick
Beth Rice
Joe Rodrick
Nancy Sadek
Melissa Sloan
Kimberly Stewart
Anne Van Heukelem
Dan Van Heukelem


Bill Bolsen,
Bob Bastian
Justin Bennett
Maude Comeau
Eleanor Ehresman
Maureen Hawkins
Carol Ivy
Catherine Latturner
Rob Lepley
Jide Nzelibe
Clark Robinson
Peter Steffen


First Presbyterian Church of Evanston